.and from the beginning the fight we were winning.

There are so many things to be thankful for this year.

I spent today at my great aunt’s house, as usual, surrounded by laughing family and friends.  I took 1000 pictures and drank a lot of champagne and ate more food than any one person should eat.  And I just kept looking around at everyone, happy and healthy and so thrilled to be together, and thinking:

I am so lucky.  I am just so, so fucking lucky.

I don’t think that often enough, but it’s true.  Thanksgiving always makes me reflect on my first-world privilege and the thousand ways that I’ve been handed gifts that I never had to earn.  (Which is a long post in and of itself, but it’s late and I’m exhausted, so I’ll spare you the entirety of my reflections.  Suffice to say, I am humbled and grateful.)

(And this time next week, I will be snuggling up to Finn for the second night in a row – something I haven’t gotten to say for 10 weeks.  So not only am I lucky, but well-loved.  Again: humbled.  Grateful.)

Also on the List of Things for Which I am Thankful: memories of a relaxing and in all ways wonderful weekend with Rev in DC, where I got to take over her guest room and play with her puppy and hang with her lady and her sister (both of whom I adore) and spend some sorely missed QT with Rala.  I also got to spend most of a day with Grant, living it up at the Spy Museum and the Holocaust Museum – where yes, I cried – and just having fun hanging out with him somewhere other than our usual city.  And, best of all, I got to be there for Rev’s actual BIRTHDAY, a feat which I don’t think I managed to accomplish in the entire 8 years we’ve known one another.  For the record, it was all it was cracked up to be.

So, like I said.  A lot to be thankful for.

Happy thanksgiving, friends.

**[By the by, I took the name of this post from one of my favorite childhood Thanksgiving hymns, We Gather Together.  This line always rocked my little-kid-face off, and I used to sing it at the top of my lungs.  I guess I really liked the idea of being on the right side of a fight.  Still do, actually.  Lyrics here, if you’re interested.]

1 Comment

Filed under Finn, Grant, manythanks, Rala, Rev, stuff pomegranates like, The Fam, vacation all i ever wanted

One response to “.and from the beginning the fight we were winning.

  1. Rev

    I also realized that this might have been the first actual birthday we spent together. It was great!! I’m so glad you got to come to DC for it! I’m thankful that after 8 years and now long distance, our friendship is as good as ever. :)

Leave a Reply

