.today.

Some things that happened to me today:

  • I went to a hearing before a judge who gave me an incredibly hard time, grilled me for an hour (“Well counselor?  Where does it say X?  Why are you looking through your notes?  Do you or don’t you know the record of your own client?” –  bearing in mind, please, that in a disability hearing the record generally consists of hundreds, if not thousands, of pages of detailed medical evidence) and nearly made my client cry.  He then ended the hearing by telling me that I did a great job and was welcome in his courtroom any time.  It was my first hearing with him… I’m pretty sure that was some kind of bizarre initiation rite.
  • I received my BBO number, which was the last thing standing between me and “official” lawyerhood.  So I’m official.  And I can officially be given the proverbial smackdown if I screw up.  I’m really going to miss the “Oh, don’t listen to me, I’m just an intern” days… ha.
  • Got tagged by my ex-boyfriend (circa high school) in a facebook note, and realized as I went through his profile that I actually miss him quite a bit.  Not in a romatic way, obviously, but he was a lot of fun to be around and I miss his energy in my life.
  • Ate way too many peppermint patties.
  • Got a CVS card after holding out for several years for some unknown reason.
  • Came home and put on a ridiculously mismatched pair of PJs, which I am thinking I might need to change out of if I ever want to get laid again.  At least they’re not my footie pajamas… (yes, I own footie pajamas, they were a Christmas gift from Finn and they are insanely comfortable, but let’s just say that foreplay is not a realistic expectation when I put ’em on).
  • Read this article in the Times about lesbian separatist communities and felt strangely eeked out by the idea.  For instance, take this quote:

BEHIND the gate at Alapine, about five miles from the nearest town in the southern Appalachian mountains near Georgia, the women live in simple houses or double-wide trailers on roads they have named after goddesses, like Diana Drive. They meet for potluck dinners, movie and game nights and “community full moon circles” during which they sing, read poems and share thoughts on topics like “Mercury in retrograde — how is it affecting our communication?”

To me, these women sound like 2nd wave cartoon characters.  They describe themselves as “radical feminist separatist lesbians.”  I can’t help it – I read that and cringe.  And yet… I feel bad about my reaction, because I get where they’re coming from.  I’ve read all the books, I know all the theory.  Hell, I ran a very second-wave-esque feminist organization in college, for god’s sake.  With some distance and time to think, though, it just seems so unworkable.  (And is, actually – the article is about how these communities are dying out because of lack of interest from young lezzies like me.)  Perhaps it makes me ungrateful, perhaps I have been spoiled by my own movement, but I have a visceral reaction to spelling womyn with a y.  And to the ghettoization of queers.  So there you have it.

  • Read this article in the Sun and wondered how many other things the Victorians weren’t telling us… rowr.
1 Comment

Filed under Finn, lightning and a lightning bug, memories, nerdiness, ohmygod i'm a lawyer, queering the binary, quotables

One response to “.today.

  1. I bet I know at least a few of those wom”y”n. As a period second wave lesbian feminist, I am not surprised that their numbers are dwindling and that they are still living a semi-pagan lifestyle.

    I was never a sepo, though a number of my friends were, I could never muster the requisite emotional animosity toward men. Perhaps it’s because I have only always been a lesbian since adolescence and have had no emotional entanglements with men, positive or negative. Oddly I have found that a number of my sepo friends went straight for short or long or permanent periods of time.

    Frankly the five main reasons I never found separatism attractive are: 1)The romanticizing of a distant and mythical white European past 2) Racism (I found this troubling with Mary Daly and with a number of separatists who told me that sepos could never be racist, despite being racist – hard one to take as a lesbian of color) 3) The intensity of a passion in negative relationship to men 4) Rigid rules of membership 5) As an activist, I find, what appears to me to be, running and hiding in the woods self-serving and not particularly useful in changing societal norms for the benefit of more than just ourselves.

    I do understand where these women are coming from, I just believe this brand of separatism has become a refuge approach to living, rather than an activist approach.

    Nice post, pom., and congratulations on moving up into “I can be sued for malpractice” territory, the risk is great but the ability you have, with the skill and knowledge you have, to help others wend safely through this litigious world is of great and appreciated value.

Leave a Reply

