.names have been changed to protect the innocent.

It’s squarely mid-morning and I’m still in my PJs. Got some sweet cats snuggling, Finn (that’s GF’s official new nickname for pomegranatepurposes) is off for an appointment but headed back soon. I should mention that Finn is a midwife so she’s always running around at odd times. I used to hate that we couldn’t really ever plan anything, but I realized early on that if we were going to be together I’d have to adjust to a complete lack of schedule (which trust me, was not an easy adjustment.) I’m not always 100% supportive of her work when she, for instance, spends the entire day of my birthday helping coax a baby out of a woman, but I’m working on it.

Annnnyway, slight digression. I think I’ll make some coffee, get in touch with Cali (my local bestie) about how we’re going to spend the afternoon. She’s been sick, so nothing too taxing, but I haven’t seen her in weeks because of the holidays and the fact that she lives in a different state during the week because of her job. It’ll be nice to just have a little face time.

Also, completely unrelated, I’m about 3 pages into “A Short History of Nearly Everything” by Bill Bryson (recommended to me by my dad) and it’s already blowing my mind. I’m not a very science-minded person, and it’s all about atoms and particles and the formation of the universe and of the strange, unlikely sequence of events that led to each of us becoming ourselves.

“Consider the fact that for 3.8 billion years, a period of time older than the Earth’s mountains and rivers and oceans, every one of your forebears on both sides has been attractive enough to find a mate, healthy enough to reproduce, and sufficiently blessed by fate and circumstances to live long enough to do so. Not one of your pertinent ancestors was squashed, devoured, drowned, starved, stranded, stuck fast, untimely wounded, or otherwise deflected from its life’s quest of delivering a tiny charge of genetic material to the right partner at the right moment in order to perpetuate the only possible sequence of hereditary combinations that could result – eventually, astoundingly, and all too briefly – in you.”

Uh huh. And on that note, time to drag my primordial brain out of bed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cali, Finn, quotables

Leave a Reply

